2019 International Ocean Colour Science Meeting
Busan, South Korea, 9-12 April 2019

The fourth International Ocean Colour Science (IOCS) meeting was held from 9 to 12 April 2019 in Busan, South Korea. The meeting was convened by the International Ocean Colour Coordinating Group (IOCCG) in partnership with, and thanks to sponsorship from the Korea Institute of Ocean Science & Technology (KIOST), NASA, EUMETSAT and Airbus.

The programme for the IOCS-2019 meeting included invited keynote lectures, agency talks and a special session dedicated to ocean colour remote sensing in Asian waters. Several breakout workshops were also included along with poster sessions and community Town Halls. The NASA Ocean Color Research Team (OCRT) meeting was held on 8 April, 2019, prior to the IOCS-2019 meeting.

The overarching theme for IOCS-2019 was “Fostering International Collaboration in Multi-Scale Ocean Colour Science and Applications” with the overall goal of nurturing a strong global user community for ocean colour science and applications, and fostering exchange between the ocean colour research community and international space agencies with an interest in ocean colour science.

Scientific Planning Committee

Organising Committee

  • Young-Je Park – KIOST, South Korea
  • Wonkook Kim – KIOST, South Korea
  • Cara Wilson – NOAA-NMFS, USA
  • Bryan Franz – NASA GSFC, USA
  • Cédric Jamet  – Université du Littoral, France
  • Chris Brown – NOAA, USA
  • Chuanmin Hu – Univ. South Florida, USA
  • David Antoine – Curtin University, Australia
  • Emmanuel Boss – University of Maine, USA
  • Ewa Kwiatkowska – EUMETSAT, Germany
  • Hiroshi Murakami  – JAXA, Japan
  • Hubert Loisel – Université du Littoral, France
  • Laura Lorenzoni – NASA, USA
  • Menghua Wang- NOAA, USA
  • Milton Kampel – INPE, Brazil
  • Paula Bontempi – NASA Headquarters, USA
  • Prakash Chauhan – IIRS, ISRO, India
  • SeungHyun Son – NOAA, USA
  • Stewart Bernard – CSIR, South Africa
  • Venetia Stuart – IOCCG Project Coordinator, Canada
  • Tim Malthus – CSIRO, Australia
  • Vittorio Brando – CNR, Italy
  • Seongick Cho (Chair) –  KIOST, South Korea
  • Hee-Jeong Han – KIOST, South Korea
  • Sinhae Park – KIOST, South Korea
  • SeungHyun Son – NOAA, USA
  • Cara Wilson – NOAA-NMFS, USA
  • Venetia Stuart – IOCCG Coordinator, Canada

Meeting Sponsors

KIOST Korean Institute of Ocean Science & Technology