2023 International Ocean Colour Science Meeting
St. Petersburg, FL, USA, 14-17 November 2023

The fifth International Ocean Colour Science (IOCS) meeting was convened by the International Ocean Colour Coordinating Group (IOCCG) in partnership with the University of South Florida, NASA, and NOAA, and took place from 14-17 November 2023 in St. Petersburg, Florida, USA.

The primary focus of the IOCS meetings is to serve as a venue for the ocean colour community to communicate their views, ideas, concerns and issues with the satellite agencies. The programme for the IOCS-2023 meeting included invited keynote lectures, agency talks, breakout workshops, poster sessions and community Town Halls. Training events and side meetings were also scheduled.

The overarching theme for IOCS-2023 was “Impact and Value of Ocean Colour Observations in a Changing World: Water in all its Colours” with the overall goal of nurturing a strong global user community for ocean colour science and applications, and fostering exchange between the ocean colour research community and international space agencies with an interest in ocean colour science.

Scientific Planning Committee

  • Chuanmin Hu – University of South Florida, USA
  • Cara Wilson – NOAA-NMFS, USA
  • Ana Dogliotti – IAFE/CONICET, Argentina
  • Áurea Maria Ciotti – Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
  • Carolina Tauro – CONAE, Argentina
  • Cédric Jamet – Université du Littoral, France
  • Claudia Giardino – CNR/IREA, Italy
  • David Antoine – Curtin University, Australia
  • Ewa Kwiatkowska – EUMETSAT, EU, Germany
  • Emmanuel Devred – Bedford Institute of Oceanography, Canada
  • Frédéric Mélin  – EU Joint Research Center, Italy
  • Hiroshi Murakami  – JAXA, Japan
  • Hubert Loisel – Université du Littoral, France
  • Jeremy Werdell – NASA GSFC, USA
  • Joo-Hyung Ryu – KIOST, South Korea
  • Laura Lorenzoni – NASA, USA
  • Laurent Giugni Canadian Space Agency, Canada
  • Marie-Hélène Rio – ESA/ESRIN, Italy
  • Menghua Wang – NOAA, USA
  • Paula Bontempi – University of Rhode Island, USA
  • Raisha Lovindeer – IOCCG, Canada
  • Stewart Bernard – CSIR, South Africa
  • Shubha Sathyendranath – PML, UK
  • Tim Malthus – CSIRO, Australia
  • Vittorio Brando – CNR, Italy
  • Wonkook Kim – Pusan National University (PNU), South Korea
  • Xianqiang He – Second Institute of Oceanography, China

Organising Committee

  • Chuanmin Hu – USF, USA
  • Cara Wilson – NOAA-NMFS, USA
  • Laura Lorenzoni – NASA, USA
  • Lin Qi  – NOAA, USA
  • Menghua Wang – NOAA, USA
  • Raisha Lovindeer – IOCCG, Canada
  • Shubha Sathyendranath – PML, UK 
  • Brian Barnes – USF, USA
  • Merri Beth Neely – GEO AquaWatch, USA

USF Volunteers

  • Brad Nemeth
  • Chelsea Bryant
  • Cheng Xue
  • Claudia Baron-Aguilar
  • David English
  • Jennifer Cannizzaro
  • Jing Shi
  • Junnan Jiao
  • Keyu Mao
  • Sam Bunson
  • Sully Sullivan
  • Yao Yao
  • Yingjun Zhang
  • Yuyuan Xie

Meeting Sponsors